RSS

I’m a Mormon!

19 Jun

Most of you who read this blog are probably already aware that I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (colloquially nick-named “Mormons” but we prefer “LDS” if you feel the urge to shorten the name!). However, it’s likely that many of you don’t really know what this means to me, and how relevant it is to my life as I describe it in my other blog entries. So here is a little profile I put together for mormon.org. I’ve also added a little “I’m a Mormon” badge on the right side of my blog, that takes you to the same page.

About Me

I’m a French man living in Australia since 2001, I was naturalised here about 4 years ago. I completed a bachelor’s degree in Psychology and am now enrolled in a PhD of clinical psychology.

My main line of work is computer programming, specifically web development of Intranets and Learning Management Systems. I worked as part of the core development team of Moodle for a little while.

I’m married to a beautiful West Australian girl, and this year we will be celebrating our 11th year of marriage. I’ve written about this in previous posts (here and here).

I’m the very proud father of an 18-month-old boy, who is very healthy and happy despite having undergone bypass heart surgery last year due to a congenital ventricular septal defect (a malformation in the wall between the ventricles of the heart).

I have a deep interest in education and teaching, and I believe that almost every aspect of our life can be improved through effective teaching and learning.

I enjoy photography, sports (badminton and table tennis particularly), baking (into sourdough bread-making at the moment), music (singing, playing the piano, composition etc.), computer technology, painting, and many other hobbies to which I have little time to devote, but that I enjoy occasionally.

How I live my faith

Being a Mormon includes going to Church, but it’s also much more than that, if you want it to be. Every member can receive responsibilities if they are willing to accept them. In my many years in the Church I have received many different assignments, including leadership positions, working with the youth or helping with the work of sharing the Gospel. All these responsibilities have included teaching others, which is wonderful because I enjoy teaching so much.

Currently I coordinate the missionary work in our local Church unit, by helping the full-time missionaries (the young men and women in Sunday best and badges) come in contact with people who want to learn about the Church and its teachings, and encouraging current members to talk about their beliefs with others. It’s wonderful to be able to share the things that have meant so much to me in my life, and to correct misunderstandings that are common in people’s minds.

Why I am a Mormon

My parents met the Mormon missionaries and joined the Church shortly after they were married. I was born shortly after they were married for eternity in the Switzerland temple. I was brought up with Mormon principles and values, and to this day I have tried my best to live up to these values.

However, the main reason why I am still a Mormon after all this time is not because I know nothing else, or because I haven’t questioned my beliefs. The reason is because I have put them to the test time after time, and I have gradually grown in confidence that they are true and valuable. My experience has been that things work out for the best when I follow the teachings of the Lord Jesus Christ, and I have found these teachings in their purest form in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

I also find great safety in the Church. Not just safety from physical problems, but especially from emotional and spiritual harm. The principles and commandments may seem restrictive at times, but with a bit of hindsight and a touch of humility and wisdom I occasionally understand how they protect me from most of the eroding and destructive influences that characterise contemporary society.

The Church is also a place where like-minded people meet, and I feel at home when I attend Church meetings, especially the Temple. It’s fantastic to know that other people who are complete strangers to me can be trusted because they share the same values and principles, although I do maintain a small but healthy degree of self-preserving vigilance.

Related posts:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2011 in 750words, Religion

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
